Patrickswell GAA Club Victory Dinner

4-2-17 Patrickswell GAA Club, Dinner Dance in the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel celebrationg their recent victory’s, Senior Hurling County Championship Winners 2016, County Minor Comogie Champions and past honours County Champions in 1965 and 1966. Chelsea McCarthy and Ciara O’Brien. Picture: Keith Wiseman

PATRICKSWELL GAA Club held a special Victory Dance at Fitzgerald’s Woodlands Hotel in Adare last Saturday night.
There was a superb turnout for the much awaited event which was a fitting tribute to the popularity and importance of the club in its community.
The evening was compered brilliantly by club president PJ O’Grady and special guests included Patrick O’Donovan as Minister for Sport, Deputy Niall Collins TD and Oliver Mann as County Board chairman.
The event proudly recognised the groundbreaking achievements of the 1965 and 1966 County Champions, the record-equalling 2016 County Champions and the Minor Camogie title winners of 2015.
It was a particularly memorable occasion as the players of 1965/ 1966 were awarded medals to acknowledge their legacy.  Sadly, many of the players have now passed away; however in a beautiful tribute their family members were invited to receive medals and stand in their place.  The 2016 Senior Hurling Team and 2015 Minor Camogie Team were delighted to receive recognition for their important victories and their new place in this club’s history.
Other highlights included awards for Distinguished Service to Patrick Kirby, Phil Bennis, Bernard Hayes and Mossie Carmody to commemorate their tireless years of service to the club. A special gratitude award was also given to Duggan Systems Limited, the club’s longstanding and generous sponsor. John McDermott was awarded Club Person of the Year 2016 in recognition of his superb work with the Finance Committee and his efforts in organising the acquisition of land for expansion.
Patrickswell GAA Club were delighted with the huge turnout for the gala evening and would like to thank all their members and supporters for attending.