Limerick District League bow out of Oscar Traynor Trophy


Limerick District League’s interest in this season’s Oscar Traynor Trophy ended on Sunday following a 4-3 defeat to Kerry League at Mounthawk Park, Tralee.

In poor conditions, Limerick had to claw their way back into the game on two occasions before eventually succumbing to a late goal. Shane Clarke (x2) and Kieran Hanlon were on the scoresheet for John Grehan’s men on a hugely disappointing day for the treaty men.


The absence of key players, Connor Ellis, Colin Daly and Pat Mullins did not help the side, whose defence of the title won by Janesboro last season, is now over.

In the Oscar Traynor Youth game, Martin Sugrue’s Limerick District League sider were 2-0 up and cruising at the hour mark but the game was abandoned due to safety fears and problems with the floodlights. Jake Dillon and Eoin Duff had given Sugrue’s team the advantage on what would have been a perfect start for the defending champions.

The post Limerick District League bow out of Oscar Traynor Trophy appeared first on Sporting Limerick.