Shannon Group Welcomes New Ryanair Gran Canaria Service for Shannon Airport

REPRO FREE 190721 Jack and Rita Fitzgibbon, Caherdavin Limerick, Boarding thier flight to Gatwick UK from Shannon Airport this morning hoping to meet their new Great Grandchild in Surrey. Pic Arthur Ellis.

SHANNON Group, who operate Shannon Airport, has welcomed the announcement by Ryanair of a new service to Gran Canaria (Las Palmas).

The new service starts on 7th August and will operate once a week until the end of October. This is the third new service announcement for Shannon Airport.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Welcoming the announcement Mary Considine, CEO, Shannon Group said: “As we rebuild from the devastation of the pandemic this is a positive announcement for the region. Ryanair is a valued airline partner of Shannon and this latest announcement, following on from the new Corfu and Turin services, is great news.

Anita Prsaietko and Darek Grncartzyk from Krakow, Poland, who flew into Shannon Airport this morning on the first international flight into the airport since today’s lifting of the travel ban. The couple have flown into Ireland for a holiday.
Pic Arthur Ellis.

“We have been working closely with Ryanair as we look to an anticipated recovery in demand on foot of the rollout of the EU Digital Covid Certificates and the acceleration of the vaccination programme across Europe. These new services are part of Ryanair’s commitment to reopen its Shannon base which is very welcome.

“After a hugely challenging year, and with today’s lifting of restrictions for international travel, we look forward to a busier airport with 17 routes to offer our customers,” said Ms Considine.

Ryanair’s schedule for 2021 will deliver:

  • 17 routes
  • Among these, three new routes to – Gran Canaria (Las Palmas), Corfu and Turin
  • Ryanair routes from Shannon Airport to the following destinations in 2021 are:

Barcelona-Reus, Stansted, Gatwick, Kaunas, Krakow, Wroclaw, Warsaw, Manchester, Faro, Lanzarote, Malaga, Palma, Tenerife, Alicante, Corfu, Gran Canaria (Las Palmas), and Turin (from December ’21).