Classy second half display sees Limerick into Munster Final date with Kerry


LIMERICK are into the Munster SFC Final following a 2-10 to 0-10 victory over Tipperary in the semi final at Semple Stadium.

Goals in each half from Josh Ryan and Brian Donovan were enough to seal Billy Lee’s side’s spot in the provincial decider for the first time since 2010.

After an abject first half, Limerick upped the pace dramatically in the second half to leave Thurles with a deserved six point win.

Cillian Fahy got Limerick’s scoring underway after 12 seconds but points from Jack Kennedy and Sean O’Connor put Tipp ahead.

That all changed in the 12th minute when Donovan’s shot was saved by Michael O’Reilly but Ryan was on hand to fire the rebound to the net. Fahy immediately followed up with his second point to see Limerick 1-2 to 0-2 ahead.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tipperary hit the next three points to square the game for a second time but Hugh Bourke’s point ended a 19 minute scoreless period for Limerick and put them ahead again.

However, the teams went in level at 1-3 to 0-6 when Shane O’Connell scored from long range in added time of the first half.

Points from Ryan and Adrian Enright gave a fired up Limerick a good start to the second half but two missed goal opportunities let Tipperary off the hook.

Sean O’Connell and Kennedy took advantage to tie the game for a fourth time with 51 minutes on the clock.

Limerick didn’t panic and went in front once more when Robbie Bourke made an immediate impact off the bench to score his first.

Then came the crucial goal from Donovan. He ghosted away from the Tipperary defence before burying a shot into the roof of the net to see Limerick 2-6 to 0-8 ahead.

It was plain sailing from there with Hugh and Robbie Bourke (2) firing over points that sealed a six point win and a final date with Kerry.

Scorers – Limerick: Josh Ryan 1-1 (1f), Brian Donovan 1-0, Cillian Fahy and Robbie Bourke (1f) 0-3 each, Hugh Bourke 0-2 (1f), Adrian Enright 0-1

Limerick: Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen); Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Michael Donovan (Galbally); Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Paul Maher (Adare); Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), Cillian Fahy (Drom-Broadford); Adrian Enright (Fr Caseys), Brian Donovan (Monaleen), James Naughton (St Senans); Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Josh Ryan (Oola), Hugh Bourke (Adare).

Subs: Robbie Bourke (Adare) for Nash (53), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins) for Ryan (60), Killian Ryan (Mungret St Pauls) for Enright (71), Padraig de Brun (Firies) for H Bourke (73).

The post Classy second half display sees Limerick into Munster Final date with Kerry appeared first on Sporting Limerick.