Dan Morrissey reaches National League milestone 

Dan Morrissey who will make his 40th league appearance for Limerick on Saturday night.

DAN Morrissey will make his 40th National Hurling League appearance for Limerick in Saturday night’s encounter with Cork at Páirc Uí Chaoimh. 

This will be a remarkable 10th league season for Morrissey, who debuted as a substitute against Antrim at the Gaelic Grounds back in 2014. He was pivotal to Limerick winning both the 2019 and ’20 league campaigns. 

Morrissey, who will turn 30 later in the Spring, has been chosen at number five in a half-back line that also includes captain Declan Hannon and Colin Coughlan. 

Manager John Kiely has chosen a new midfield partnership in Doon pair Darragh O’Donovan and Barry Murphy. 

Limerick’s top scorer in the recent Munster League, David Reidy, has been named at centre-forward, with young Adam English of Doon given the nod for the number 13 shirt. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

David McCarthy of Effin will line-out in goals.

Two-time Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch is set to make an appearance, having been listed amongst the substitutes. 

Limerick: David McCarthy (Glenroe); Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock); Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Declan Hannon (Adare, captain), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Barry Murphy (Doon); Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Adam English (Doon), Séamus Flanagan (Feoghanagh-Castlemahon), Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock).

Substitutes: Jamie Power (Monaleen), Ciaran Barry (Ahane), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Micheál Houlihan (Kilmallock), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Donnacha Ó Dálaigh (Monaleen), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock).

Cork: Patrick Collins, Conor O’Callaghan, Eoin Downey, Sean O’Donoghue (captain), Tommy O’Connell, Ciarán Joyce, Damien Cahalane, Brian O’Sullivan, Luke Meade, Brian Roche, Conor Lehane, Cormac Beausang, Declan Dalton, Patrick Horgan, Robbie O’Flynn.

Subs: Gavin Connolly, Niall O’Leary, Eoin Roche, Cormac O’Brien, Cathal Cormack, Sam Quirke, Conor Cahalane, Sean Twomey, Brian Hayes, Shane Barrett, Shane Kingston.