Battling Munchin’s exit Munster Senior Cup

Matthew Te Pou celebrates after scoring the first try for St Munchin's College.

A SPIRITED comeback by St Munchin’s just came up short against Presentation Brothers Cork in the semi-final of the Munster Senior Schools Cup at Musgrave Park this Thursday. 

The Limerick side trailed 35-10 at the break but crossed for three unanswered tries in the closing period to only fail narrowly (35-29). 

PBC got off to a blistering start and touched down inside the opening minute, and quickly skipped into a 14-0 lead. 

Munchin’s got a much needed try and it was down to some individual brilliance from full-back Matthew Te Pou. The Munchin’s man chipped over the top of a PBC defender before controlling the ball on the volley to touch down in the corner. 

Later in the half, Oisin Minogue used his strength to power through some tackle attempts to cross for his side’s second try. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Impressive PBC picked-off a couple of more tries to lead comfortably by 25 points at half-time. 

In the third quarter, Munchin’s got their third try. This time it was Minogue who powered over from close range for his second.

With ten minutes remaining, Munchin’s got try number four. PBC were caught defensively from a quick-tap and Gordon Wood burst through a gap to touch down under the posts. O’Connor’s conversion reduced the deficit to 35-22.

Wood then went over for a second try soon after which was converted, with the score now at 35-29 with seven minutes remaining in the game.

With the clock in the red, Munchin’s were just inches out from the PBC line and looked destined to score but Ben O’Connor won a turnover at the breakdown to win a penalty and ensure his side’s passage to the final.

PBC will now meet the winners of Crescent College and CBC who replay their semi-final at Thomond Park on Thursday next, 2pm. 

St. Munchin’s: Matthew Te Pou; Adam Cusack, Oisin Pepper, Gordon Wood, Tom Wood; Cillian O’Connor, Jake O’Riordan; Rían Burke, Peter Dougan, Tadhg O’Brien; Mark Walsh, Callum Black; Danny Williamson, Oisin Minogue, Liam Angermann.

Replacements: Ben Noonan, Sean Rice, Oskars Vitolins, Billy Power, Tommy O’Driscoll, Tony Foley, Rory McDermott, Conor McCarthy, David Keane, Azad Mohammed.

Referee: Frank Murphy.