Minor and Under-20 hurlers in championship action 

Limerick Minor Hurling Manager Evan Loftus has named a familiar line-up for tonight's game.

LIMERICK begin their Munster minor hurling championship campaign with an outing against Waterford in Dungarvan on this (Tuesday) evening at 7pm.

Manager Evan Loftus (Ballybrown) has named Seán Morrissey of Dromin/Athlacca as captain, and Dara Ferland (Monaleen) as vice-captain. 

The competition is being played on a league basis with the top three teams progressing to the knock-out stages.  After the trip to the south-east, Limerick will follow-up against Clare (home), Cork (away) and Tipperary (home). 

The final will take place in early May. 

Limerick have won the championship on nine occasions, the most recent of which was in 2020.  Adam English of Doon captained that team. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tonight’s match, which is available to stream from Munster GAA TV, will be refereed by Shane Scanlon of Cork.

Limerick: Joe Fitzgerald (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), John O Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Bickford (Ahane), Seán Morrissey (Dromin/Athlacca); Jack Cosgrove (Ahane), Seán Casey (Bruff),Cian Scully (Monaleen); Diarmuid Lyons (Newcastle West), Matthew Fitzgerald (Monaleen); Robert O Farrell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Dara Ferland (Monaleen), Tádgh Boddy (Bruff); Hugh Flanagan (Garryspillane), Cathal Hayes (Newcastle West), Darren Collopy (Murroe/Boher).

Substitutes: Conor Crowley (Mungret/St. Pauls), Declan Heavey (Garryspillane), Darragh Gleeson (Adare), Oisín Holmes (Murroe/Boher), Michael Leo (Knockainey), Seán Duff (Mungret/St. Pauls), Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh), Cian Barrett (Kilmallock), Patrick Kearney (Adare).

Meanwhile, Limerick also meet Waterford in the Munster Under-20 Hurling Championship at the same venue/time on Wednesday (YouTube Sport TG4).

Limerick: Josh O’Reilly (Ballybrown); Ronan Lyons (Monaleen); John Fitzgerald (Na Piarsaigh), Evan O’Leary (Ahane); David Fitzgerald (Kildimo / Pallaskenry), Cian Scully (Dromin/Athlacca), Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West, captain); Barry Duff (Mungret/St. Pauls), Adam English (Doon); Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret/St. Pauls); Patrick O’Donovan (Effin), John Kirby (Patrickswell); Con Hayes (Newcastle West); Adam Fitzgerald (Templeglantine); Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock).

Substitutes: Killian Quaid (Murroe/Boher), Joseph Fitzgerald (Monaleen), Séan Whelan (Cappamore), Liam Dennehy (Glenroe), Oisín O’Farrell (Askeaton), Liam Lynch (Mungret/St Pauls), Seán O’Neill (Blackrock), Jack Molloy (Knockaderry), William Dore (Dromin/Athlacca)