Winning start for minor hurlers

Limerick Minor Hurling Manager Evan Loftus

LIMERICK registered a 1-7 to 0-7 win over Waterford in the opening round of the Munster Minor Hurling Championship in rain-lashed Dungarvan last night.

The competition is being run on a round-round basis. 

Cathal Hayes capitalised on an error in the home defence to fire home the game’s only goal of the hour, the score that divided two well-matched sides at the end play. 

In last night’s other fixture, Clare overcame Tipperary 2-15 to 0-14 in front of a capacity attendance of 1,000 at Wolfe Tones Ground, Shannon. 

Limerick and Clare meet on Tuesday night next at the Gaelic Grounds.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick: Joe Fitzgerald (KildimoPallaskenry); John O Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Bickford (Ahane), Seán Morrissey, captain, (Dromin/Athlacca); Jack Cosgrove (Ahane), Seán Casey (Bruff), Cian Scully (Monaleen); Diarmuid Lyons (Newcastle West), Matthew Fitzgerald (Monaleen); Robert O’Farrell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Dara Ferland (Monaleen), Tádgh Boddy (Bruff); Hugh Flanagan (Garryspillane), Cathal Hayes (Newcastle West), Darren Collopy (Murroe/Boher).

Substitutes used: Patrick Kearney (Adare), Sean Duff (Mungret St Pauls), Michael Leo (Knockainey), Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh), Oisin Holmes (Murroe-Boher).

Meanwhile, Diarmuid Mullins managed Limerick – the defending champions – also meet Waterford in the Munster Under-20 Hurling Championship. This fixture will again by in Dungravan this Wednesday at 7pm (YouTube Sport TG4).

Limerick are captained by Ethan Hurley, Newcastle West.