Limerick hurlers hungry for more success

Three-time hurling All-Star Gearóid Hegarty.

LOSING is not in the mentality of Limerick’s award-laden hurling stars, according to one of its most consistent performers.  

Three-time All-Star Gearóid Hegarty is relishing the opportunity of landing more silverware in 2023. 

Speaking to, the St. Patrick’s clubman stated: “We want to win everything,” 

“At times, in a bad way, I’m extremely competitive. Sometimes, you’re around groups of people who aren’t as competitive as I am, and they don’t like that.

“I’m lucky in the sense that we have a panel of extremely competitive guys. That’s where the motivation comes from, that’s where the hunger comes from,” he added.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“The hunger comes from me going to training knowing that if you don’t perform, you won’t be starting. The management team do not care what you did in last year’s All-Ireland final. They care about yesterday’s training session in this preparation of this Sunday, and tomorrow night’s training session.

“They don’t look too far into the past. They don’t care what your name is or what you’ve done in the past, what accolades you’ve won, how many All-Irelands you’ve won. They don’t care if it’s your first year on the panel or your tenth year on the panel. They care about how you’re performing right now.

“You don’t want to lose your starting jersey to anybody. That’s what keeps us hungry and definitely what keeps me hungry.”

Meanwhile, unbeaten Limerick edged-out Tipperary, 1-23 to 1-22, in last night’s absorbing Munster Minor Hurling Championship encounter at Semple Stadium, Thurles. Jack Cosgrove (Ahane) struck the impressive winner in extra time. A few minutes earlier, Robert O’Farrell of Kildimo/Pallaskenry blasted home a crucial goal for the visitors. 

Limerick are home to Cork next Wednesday. A win here would guarantee Limerick a place in the May 9 Final. 

Tipp have been eliminated. 

The Limerick team to play Clare in the Munster Minor Football Championship in Miltown Malbay at 7pm tomorrow (Thursday) night has been selected.

Sam Guerin (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Cian O’Sullivan (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Callum Buckley (Athea), James Hunt (Athea); Liam Og Glynn (Ahane), Cathal Woulfe (Fr. Casey’s), Sam Colgan (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan); Cian Costello (Cappagh/Rathkeale), Evan Curry (Athea); Adam Murphy (Fr. Casey’s), Darragh Hogan (Mungret St. Paul’s) Padraic Phelan (Pallasgreen); Tommy Glynn (Na Piarsaigh), Adam Lyons (Newcastle West), Padraic Murphy (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan).

Subs: Charlie Lane (South Liberties), Con Kirby (Crecora/Manister), Cillian Meade (St. Senan’s), Barry Griffin (Monaleen), Ross Allen (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Ronan O’Connell (Fr. Casey’s), Rory Mullins (Mungret St. Paul’s), Cian Hogan (Galtee Gaels), Owen Dee (Cappagh/Rathkeale).