Minor footballers bid for Munster final

Aidan O'Shea who captains Limerick Minor footballers in their Munster semi-final tomorrow (Thursday) night.

A RARE opportunity to contest a Munster Minor Football Final is the prize on offer for Limerick when John Ryan’s side entertain Kerry in Newcastle West on Thursday (6.45pm).

A week ago, Limerick surprised Tipperary to win the Phase One Final in Mallow.

Not surprisingly, the Limerick selection is along the usual lines. 

Limerick have won the championship outright just once, way back in 1956 while have also contested the finals of 1950, 1997, 1998 and 2021.

Thursday’s other semi-final is between holders Cork and Tipperary at Semple Stadium, Thurles. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

James Regan (Cork) will referee in Newcastle West and Limerick’s Donnacha O’Callaghan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon) in Thurles.

Limerick: Sam Guerin (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Cian O’Sullivan (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Callum Buckley (Athea), Cian Costelloe (Cappagh/Rathkeale); Liam Óg Glynn (Ahane), Cathal Woulfe (Fr. Casey’s), Cillian Meade (St. Senan’s); Darragh Hogan (Mungret St Pauls), Evan Curry (Athea); Andrew Lyons (Newcastle West), Padraic Phelan (Pallasgreen), Padraic Murphy (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan); Adam Murphy (Fr. Casey’s), Aidan O’Shea, captain, (Cappagh/Rathkeale), Tommy Glynn (Na Piarsaigh).

Subsitutes: Charlie Lane (South Liberties), Con Kirby (Crecora-Manister), Sam Colgan (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan), Kieran O’Kelly (Croom), Ross Allen (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Ronan O’Connell (Fr. Casey’s), Rory Mullins (Mungret St. Paul’s), James Hunt (Athea), Eoghan Beston (Galbally).