Champions Cup draw fast approaches

Stock photo.

THE draw for the pool stages of the 2023/2024 Champions Cup will be held at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London on Wednesday next (June 21). It will be broadcast live on EPRCRugby.TV, with a time to be confirmed in the coming days.

The Champions Cup will be hotly contested by 24 elite clubs with eight representatives from the Top 14, eight from the Gallagher Premiership, and eight from the United Rugby Championship.

The clubs will be divided into four pools of six by means of a draw with Champions Cup winners Stade Rochelais, League winners Saracens, and URC champs Munster, as well as the winners of Saturday’s Top 14 final between Stade Rochelais and Stade Toulousain, making up Tier 1 with each club drawn into a separate pool at the outset.

The remaining 20 clubs make up Tier 2 and will be either drawn or allocated into the four pools by means of an open draw.

December is the starting point for the cup, with the final listed for May.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Qualifiers for the 2023/24 Champions Cup include:

URC: Munster Rugby, DHL Stormers, Leinster Rugby, Ulster Rugby, Glasgow Warriors, Vodacom Bulls, Connacht Rugby, Cardiff Rugby.

TOP 14: Stade Rochelais, Stade Toulousain, Racing 92, Union Bordeaux-Bègles, Lyon, Stade Français Paris, RC Toulon, Aviron Bayonnais.

Gallagher Premiership: Saracens, Sale Sharks, Leicester Tigers, Northampton Saints, Harlequins, Exeter Chiefs, Bath Rugby, Bristol Bears.