Limerick sailing team win Gortmore Bell in boat named to honour late councillor

Stefan Uhlemann, Robert Bourke, Donie O'Donnell, Stephen O'Mullan, and John Lawless with their boat, GoJoe.

THE annual Gortmore Bell race, which took place on Lough Derg on September 9, was won by a local Limerick sailing team on a boat named in honour of a late Limerick councillor.

The ‘GoJoe’ racing yacht, manned by Stefan Uhlemann, Robert Bourke, Donie O’Donnell, Stephen O’Mullan, and John Lawless, took home the coveted Gortmore Bell.

The Limerick yachtsmen finished just 56 seconds ahead of competitors.

The boat was named in honour of the late Limerick Fianna Fáil councillor Joe Crowley, who passed away in 2016 while out canvassing with TD Willie O’Dea.