Magnificent seven All-Star nominations for hurling giants Limerick

Kyle Hayes of Limerick celebrates after his side's victory in the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship final match between Kilkenny and Limerick at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

AS WAS the case last year, All-Ireland Champions Limerick occupy seven places on the 2023 All-Stars Hurling Team.

Beaten finalists Kilkenny have been rewarded with five, while the other representations comes from Clare (2) and Galway, one.

Limerick’s brilliant midfield pairing of Darragh O’Donovan (Doon) and Na Piarsaigh’s Will O’Donoghue were honoured, as were the likeable Morrissey brothers of Ahane, Dan and Tom.

Patrickswell pair Diarmaid Byrnes and Aaron Gillane, along with Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) were also short-listed from Limerick’s initial entry of 14.

The Player of the Year nominees are the Limerick trio of Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane and Diarmaid Byrnes, with the winner to be announced – along with the Football All-Star Team – to be unveiled at Friday night’s banquet at the RDS, Dublin.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

All-Star Hurling Team: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny); Mikey Butler (Kilkenny), Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny), Dan Morrissey (Limerick); Diarmaid Byrnes, John Conlon (Clare), Kyle Hayes (Limerick); Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick), Will O’Donoghue (Limerick); Shane O’Donnell (Clare), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Tom Morrissey (Limerick); Conor Whelan (Galway), Aaron Gillane (Limerick), Eoin Cody (Kilkenny).