Historic win for Scoil Pól Kilfinane

Scoil Pól Kilfinane, winners of the All-Ireland Schools Hurling Championship in Tulla. Photo: Scoil Pól/X.

COURTESY of Scoil Pól Kilfinane, Limerick underage hurling received another timely boost with the school’s 0-16 to 1-8 defeat of Coláiste Mhuire Ballygar (Galway) in the All-Ireland Final at Tulla.

The side comprised of clubs from across south Limerick, and parts  of North Cork.

Darren Frewen (Glenroe) was the best on show and contributed four delightful points for a team joinly captained by Kristian O’Gorman (Charleville) and Shane Fitzgibbon of Dromin-Athlacca.

Scoil Pól led 0-8 to 1-2 at the short-whistle.

Ed Kiely (Doon) and Camoue Rovers pair Anthony Punch and Peadar McCarthy were the Kilfinane selectors.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Meanwhile, Limerick and Tipperary (0-12 to 2-6) drew in the opening round of the Munster Under-20 Football Championship in Fethard.

County senior Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West) landed three points for Limerick, while our top scorer was Ronan Quirke of Fr Casey’s with six points.

Limerick face Clare at Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale on Friday next.