O’Neill handed mid-field role for Munster SHC tilt with Clare

Cathal O'Neill will start for Limerick against Clare on Sunday.

CATHAL O’Neill has been named alongside William O’Donghue at midfield on the Limerick team to face Clare in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship opener at Cusack Park, Ennis on Sunday (2pm).

O’Neill impressed hugely throughout the National League.

Declan Hannon will captain the team from centre-back, while David Reidy will lead the attack.

Limerick team v Clare: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; William O’Donoghue, Cathal O’Neill; Gearóid Hegarty, David Reidy, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Séamus Flanagan, Cian Lynch.

Substitutes: David McCarthy, Conor Boylan, Colin Coughlan, Adam English, Sean Finn, Graeme Mulcahy, Barry Murphy, Aidan O’Connor, Fergal O’Connor, Donnacha Ó Dálaigh, Mark Quinlan.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Clare: Eibhera Quilligan, Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Cconor Leen; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Conor Galvin; Cathal Malone, Darragh Lohan; David Fitzgerald, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Ian Galvin, David Reidy.

Substitutes: Cian Broderick, Rory Hayes, Paul Flanagan, Seadna Morey, David McInerney, Shane O’Donnell, Aron Shanagher, Shane Meehan, Rorbin Mounsey, Tony Kelly.