Shortt at helm of young film awards

Faye Shortt, daughter of comedian and actor Pat Shortt.

COMEDIAN and writer Pat Shortt completely ignored the advice of the old Noel Coward song, ‘don’t put your daughter on the stage, Mrs Worthington”.

Hence, Faye Shortt is the co-presenter in Troy studios this coming Monday as the Fresh International Film Festival, in collaboration with RTÉ and Screen Ireland, presents the 2024 Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year Awards (IYFTYs).

From 7:00pm to 8:00pm this Monday, the excitement will take centre stage on RTÉ 2 and the RTÉ Player.

Hosting the awards are the multi-talented actor and comedian Faye and radio presenter Gemma Bradley.

Faye Shortt, a Gaiety School of Acting and Bow Street Academy alum, has charmed audiences with her sketches co-created with her famous dad, Pat Shortt.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Jayne Foley, artistic director of Fresh Film, shared her excitement, saying that “we are thrilled for this year’s awards with the largest number of entries ever – an exciting indicator of Ireland’s booming film industry”.

“Hosting our biggest awards show yet at Troy Studios in Limerick is so exciting. This marks just the start of an exciting journey for these young filmmakers, destined for a future filled with numerous accolades.”

Now in its 28th year, the IYFTY’s, part of the esteemed Fresh International Film Festival, continues to be a beacon for aspiring filmmakers worldwide.

Notable alumni include Oscar-nominated director Vincent Lambe (Detainment), acclaimed Irish filmmaker Dónal Foreman, and comedian and TV personality Justine Stafford.

Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year Awards encompass a diverse array of categories, including Best School, Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Screenplay, alongside specialist awards such as the Radharc Trust Award for documentaries, the new SPI, Most Sustainable Production Award, the RTÉ Factual Award, and the peer-to-peer Audience Award.

Fresh Film, Fresh International Film Festival, and Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year Awards are supported by the Arts Council of Ireland, RTÉ, Screen Ireland, Omniplex Cinema Group, Limerick City and County Council, Coimisiún na Meán, Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board, Screen Producers Ireland, the Radharc Trust, Animation Ireland, Bow Street Academy, Troy Studios, IFCO, and RTÉ Supporting the Arts.

For more information, visit