Limerick ladies are league legends

Deborah Murphy, Róisín Ambrose, and Yvonne Lee after receiving their awards. Photo: Ramsey Cardy.

THREE Limerick players were named on the Division Four Ladies Football Team of the League, and were presented with their awards at Croke Park over the bank holiday weekend.

Limerick were runners-up to Carlow in the League.

The Limerick trio honoured were Yvonne Lee (Monagea) at full-back, mid-fielder Róisín Ambrose (Old Mill), and Deborah Murphy (Monagea) at centre-forward.

On Saturday, Limerick were narrowly beaten, 1-17 to 1-16, in the Munster Senior ‘B’ Football Championship in Mallow.

Ambrose kicked four points in this fixture, while Iris Kenneally (Old Mill) and Aoibhín Murphy (St Brigid’s) joint top-scored with 0-5 and 1-,2, respectively.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Such are the permutations, Limerick and Cork will also meet in the final in a fortnight’s time.