It’s a Cappamore-Kilmallock show as Eddie Ryan re-elected after a slow start

Re-elected councillor Eddie Ryan celebrating retaining his council seat with family and supporters. Photo: Brendan Gleeson.

AFTER a slow start to Sunday morning’s count, Independent candidate Eddie Ryan from the Cappamore-Kilmallock district became the first person to be elected this morning, and the 12th to be deemed elected for a new council term so far. 

With a total of 2,085 votes after count two, Mr Ryan was deemed elected this Sunday morning, surpassing the quota of 2,053.

Following counts in the Limerick City West and Limerick City North districts, no candidates were elected.

In Limerick City West, sitting Labour Party councillor Joe Leddin is currently on 1,360 votes, just 160 off the quota of 1,520.

In City North meanwhile, which has yet to see a candidate elected after three counts, Cllr Frankie Daly is leading the way with 1,569 votes, 25 away from the quota of 1,594.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Hot on his heels is Labour’s Conor Sheehan on 1,556 votes, 38 away from the quota.

Veteran Fine Gael councillor Michael Sheahan was eliminated after moving from his stomping ground in City East to his native Askeaton’s constituency in Adare-Rathkeale.

The counting continues.