Entries about to close for South Golf Championship

Gary Pierse (Pierse Motors), Michael Coote (Golf Ireland), and John McInerney (Lahinch Golf Club).

THERE is sure to be a sprinkling of Limerick interest in next month’s Pierse Motors Volkswagen sponsored South of Ireland Amateur Open Golf Championship at Lahinch Golf Club, entries for which close on Wednesday next (June 26).

Previous winners from Limerick in times past include legendary figures Gerry Gilligan (1951) and Vincent Nevin (1976), and in more recent times the likes of Pat Murray (2012), Cian McNamara (2004), Patrick Collier (1997), and Peter Sheehan (1993).

A field of 150 of Ireland’s leading amateur golfers will play in the 36-hole strokeplay qualifier on July 24 and 25, with the top 64 qualifying for the matchplay stage of the competition from June 26.

The action concludes with the semi-finals and final over the weekend.

John McInerney, Captain of Lahinch GC, said: “Lahinch Golf Club, which will host the Arnold Palmer Cup at the start of July and the Walker Cup in 2026, appreciates the continued support of Golf Ireland in ensuring that our leading golfers have the opportunity to follow in the footsteps of previous winners such as John Burke, JB Carr, Paul McGinley, Darren Clarke, and Graeme McDowell.”

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Michael Coote, Chairperson of Munster Region Golf Ireland added that “Golf Ireland is delighted to continue its long association with Lahinch Golf Club. The South of Ireland Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious championships in the world and we wish all the competitors well when the tournament commences in a few weeks.”

“The roll of honour of past winners truly reflects the high esteem in which the South of Ireland is held by both the players and supporters of amateur golf.”