Limerick crowned Munster Junior Camogie Champions


2013-05-26 16.13.07Limerick Camogie continued their winning ways, annexing the Munster Junior Cup with a gutsy display. The match was played in Ballygiblin yesterday, Limerick playing with a stiff breeze in the first half. Player of the match Karen  O’Leary led the way from the half back line, with Dymphna O’Brien on the end of Limericks scores.
Cork got the first score of the game within a minute with a point from play. Limerick quickly replied with point from Aoife Wilson. Brid Hannan then scored 3 points without reply in the next  9 mins (1-45’, 1-free) In the 10th minute Cork got a goal which Limerick immediately cancelled with one of their own by Lisa O’Keefe. This left the score Limk 1-04 Cork 1-01.

Cork got another point but then  Aoife Wilson raised the green flag (13 min) followed by a point each from Noreen Barry (14 min) and Dymphna O’Brien (15 min.)  These were the last scores by Limerick in this half but Cork hit purple patch coming back strongly with 5 unanswered points (0-04 play 0-01 free).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Half time score Limerick 2-6 Cork 1-7.

Limerick were first to score in the second half with a point from play from Elaine Kennedy, giving Limerick a three point lead.  However, Cork through Niamh McCarthy and Amy O’Connor sent in some great ball to a forward line that Limerick marshalled well through Noreen Barry. But they clawed back with two points (1-45’, 1-free). Limk 2-07 Cork 1-09

Limerick introduced subs after 10 mins – Martina McMahon for Lisa O’Keefe, Katy Hurley for Katie Hennessey. Three points from Limerick on 16 min (Martina McMahon) 17 min (Noreen Barry) 26 min (Brid Hannan) gave Limerick a four point cushion.

Donna Mulcahy was introduced for Elaine Kennedy.  Cork finished strongly but Limerick defended well just allowing Cork the final score of the game -a point in the 29th minute.

Cork managed only 3 scores in the second half, and the Treaty County secured their Munster title to add to their national league title.
Captain Sarah Crotty lifted the Burns Perpetual Cup on behalf of the victorious Limerick team.

Final score 2-10 to 1-10

Scorers : Brid Hannan 0-04 (1 free, 1 45’) Aoife Wilson 1-01 Noreen Barry 0-02 Lisa O’Keefe 1-00, Martina McMahon 0-01, Dymphna O’Brien 0-01, Elaine Kennedy 0-01

Subs used: Martina McMahon for Lisa O’Keefe, Katy Hurley for Katie Hennessey, Donna Mulcahy for Elaine Kennedy,

Team For Final v Cork

1. Claire Keating, Cappamore

2. Jane Wilson, Na Piarsaigh

3. Lorraine McCarthy, Bruff

4. Aishling McCartan, Newcastlewest

5. Karen O Leary, Newcastlewest

7. Sarah Crotty, Ahane
19. Katie Hennessy, Ballyagran

8. Mairead Fitzgerald, Granagh/  Ballingarry

9. Caitrin De Bhal, Feenagh Kilmeedy

10. Aoife Wilson, Na Piarsaigh

17. Elaine Kennedy, Newcastlewest

12. Noreen Barry, Killeedy

13. Lisa O Keeffe, Adare

14. Dymphna O’Brien, Killeedy

15 Brid Hannan, Croagh Kilfinny

16. Orla Cunningham, Killeedy

18. Patricia Liston, Newcastlewest

11. Martina McMahon, Croagh Kilfinny

20. Lisa Ryan, Murroe Boher

21. Donna Mulcahy, Killeedy

22. Katy Hurley, Newcastlewest

6. Sarah Carey, Granagh/  Ballingarry

2013-05-26 17.50.07








Captain Sarah Crotty with the Burns Cup alongside Player of The Match Karen O’Leary with her award.