Golf – Limerick GC defeat Castletroy on ‘Road to Carton’


19th holeIT’S DOWN to the final eight in the Munster section of the AIG Junior Cup although last year’s winners have already relinquished their crown.

Local rivals Limerick got the better of reigning All Ireland champions Castletroy in the third round and will now meet Woodstock in the North Area Final for a place in the provincial semi-finals.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Munster has been a breeding ground for All Ireland champions in recent seasons. Last year four of the five green pennants on offer at the AIG Cups and Shields finals in Carton House went south while three of the last four Junior Cups have been won by Munster clubs. Ballybunion, champions in 2013, cruised into the West Area Final where they will play Ring of Kerry for a place in the last four. Bandon and Douglas will square off in the South Area Final while Mitchelstown, who took All Ireland honours in 2012, will meet Tramore in the East Area Final.

The Waterford men won last year’s AIG Senior Cup and they begin the defence of their crown against Cahir Park. This year’s Munster Finals weekend, featuring the Senior Cup, Junior Cup and Barton Shield, takes place at Dungarvan on 15 and 16 August. Reigning AIG Barton Shield champions Muskerry are on course to retain their Munster title after coming through qualifying on their home course although it was far from stress-free.

In their second match against Monstown they needed extra holes to secure their win. Having overcome a nerve-wracking tie, they easily dispatched Cork and Bandon to secure their place in the Munster semi-finals, where they will face Youghal. On the other side of the draw, Ballybunion take on Shannon.

East Clare club, Bodyke, will host the Munster finals of the AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield and the AIG Pierce Purcell Shield on Sunday, 19 July. Spanish Point are chasing a hat-trick of All Irelands in the Pierce Purcell Shield and face Thurles in the semi-finals while Kinsale take on Newcastle West. Nenagh, All Ireland champions in 2009, are through to the final four of the Jimmy Bruen where they will meet Ballybunion while Lee Valley are up against Ballykisteen in the second semi-final.