Rugby – Earls wins 40th cap and first under Schmidt

Screen shot 2015-08-06 at 13.49.48THE IRELAND Coaching Team have announced the team to take on Wales in the Millennium Stadium on Saturday. Keith Earls wins his 40th cap for Ireland, while making his first start under Joe Schmidt.

Jamie Heaslip captain’s the side and is joined in the backrow by Tommy O’Donnell and Jordi Murphy.  Donnacha Ryan makes his international return after an absence through injury of over two years and is partnered in the row by Iain Henderson.   The front-row is made up of Mike Ross, who wins his 50th cap, Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath.

Eoin Reddan and Paddy Jackson make up the half-back pairing with Darren Cave and Keith Earls linking up in the centre.  The back three consists of Fergus McFadden, Andrew Trimble and Felix Jones.

Among the replacements are Rory Best, David Kilcoyne, Michael Bent, Dan Tuohy, Chris Henry, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan and Simon Zebo.

Tickets are still available for Ireland’s two Guinness Series Test Matches in the Aviva Stadium.  Ireland take on Scotland on Saturday 15th August before hosting Wales on Saturday 29th August.  Tickets are available from

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

IRELAND team to play Wales – Saturday 8th August, 2015

15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
14. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
13. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
12. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
11. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
10. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
9. Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) capt
7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
6. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

16. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
20. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster)
23. Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)