Soccer – Limerick FC to begin 2016 season at home to UCD

948
5 June 2015; Mark Hughes, Drogheda United, in action against Shane Duggan, Limerick FC. SSE Airtricity League, Premier Division, Limerick FC v Drogheda United. Markets Field, Garryowen, Co. Limerick. Picture credit: Ois’n McHugh / SPORTSFILE
5 June 2015; Mark Hughes, Drogheda United, in action against Shane Duggan, Limerick FC. SSE Airtricity League, Premier Division, Limerick FC v Drogheda United. Markets Field, Garryowen, Co. Limerick. Picture credit: Ois’n McHugh / SPORTSFILE

LIMERICK FC will begin life back in the First Division with a home game against UCD on Saturday March 5, with a 6:30pm kick-off at Markets Field as Martin Russell comes up against his former club.

Following that clash on the opening weekend of the season, the Super Blues have fixtures against Waterford United (away), Cobh Ramblers (home) and Athlone Town (away).

Limerick will end the regular 28-game season with a trip to Cabinteely on Saturday October 15, while the Shannonsiders’ last home fixture is pencilled on for Saturday October 8 when Drogheda United, who were also relegated from the Premier Division in 2015, visit Markets Field.

The First Division promotion play-off is fixed for October 21 and 28, while the promotion/relegation play-off final, which Limerick lost to Finn Harps in agonising circumstances a few weeks ago, will be played on October 31 and November 4. As with last season, Limerick’s home matches will predominantly be played on Saturday evenings with a 6:30pm kick-off, while there are no midweek games in the initial fixture list unveiled today.

Although the Super Blues lost their Premier Division status last November, they will still play host to some top flight teams this year. There are three pre-season friendly matches fixed for Markets Field in February, with champions Dundalk visiting on Saturday February 13 and Cork City (February 18) and Galway United (February 27) also venturing to Garryowen as the countdown to the 2016 SSE Airtricity League season gathers pace.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick’s first match of 2016 will be against Cobh Ramblers in the Munster Senior Cup on Saturday January 30, the time and venue of which have yet to be decided.

 

Limerick FC fixtures 2016

Munster Senior Cup

Sat 30 Jan: Cobh Ramblers

Pre-season

Sat 13 Feb: Dundalk (H) 6:30pm

Thu 18 Feb: Cork City (H) 7:45pm

Sat 27 Feb: Galway United (H) 6:30pm

First Division

Sat 5 Mar: UCD (H)

Fri 11 Mar: Waterford United (A)

Sat 19 Mar: Cobh Ramblers (H)

Sat 26 Mar: Athlone Town (A)

Sat 2 Apr: Shelbourne (H)

Fri 8 Apr: Drogheda (A)

Sat 16 Apr: Cabinteely (H)

Fri 22 Apr: UCD (A)

Sat 30 Apr: Waterford United (H)

Sat 7 May: Cobh Ramblers (A)

Sat 14 May: Athlone Town (H)

Sun 29 May: Shelbourne (A)

Sat 4 June: Drogheda (H)

Fri 24 June: Cabinteely (A)

Sat 2 July: UCD (H)

Fri 8 July: Waterford United (A)

Sat 16 July: Cobh Ramblers (H)

Fri 22 July: Athlone Town (A)

Sat 30 July: Shelbourne (H)

Fri 5 Aug: Drogheda (A)

Sat 13 Aug: Cabinteely (H)

Fri 26 Aug: UCD (A)

Sat 3 Sep: Waterford United (H)

Sat 10 Sep: Cobh Ramblers (A)

Sat 17 Sep: Athlone Town (H)

Fri 23 Sep: Shelbourne (A)

Sat 8 Oct: Drogheda (H)

Sat 15 Oct: Cabinteely (A)