Munster reach Pro12 final with defeat of Ospreys at Thomond Park


MUNSTER will face the Scarlets in the 2016/17 Pro12 final next weekend at the Aviva Stadium following their 23-3 win over the Ospreys at Thomond Park this evening.

Tries from man of the match Francis Saili (26), Simon Zebo (61) and Andrew Conway (75) saw the regular season table toppers claim a final slot in a game which was slow to get going.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

With Munster leading 8-3 at the break, a second half effort, built on tactical kicking from Bleyendaal and intense defence, saw the men in red close out their season at home with a convincing if not emphatic win.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony – capt., Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Brian Scott, Stephen Archer, Jean Deysel, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Jaco Taute.

Ospreys: Dan Evans, Keelan Giles, Kieron Fonotia, Ashley Beck, Tom Habberfield, Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb, Nicky Smith, Scott Baldwin, Rhodri Jones, Bradley Davies, Alun Wyn Jones (Capt), Sam Underhill, Justin Tipuric, James King

Replacements: Scott Otten, Paul James, Dan Suter, Lloyd Ashley, Olly Cracknell, Brendon Leonard, Sam Davies, Josh Matavesi