Kilkenny up next for Kiely’s Limerick after win over Carlow

Kyle Hayes scored Limerick's first goal in their 5-22 to 0-13 win over Carlow. Photo: Matt Browne/Sportsfile

John Kiely’s Limerick senior hurling team will face Kilkenny in the All-Ireland Quarter Final after securing a 5-22 to 0-13 victory over Carlow on Saturday evening.

Brian Cody’s ‘Cats’ are Limerick’s opposition after they fell to defeat against Galway in the Leinster Hurling Final Replay in Thurles yesterday.

Limerick were never in any danger against the Joe McDonagh Cup Champions at Cullen Park from the moment Kyle Hayes netted their first goal inside 60 seconds.

The victory was backboned by outstanding performances from Aaron Gillane (1-6) and Tom Morrissey (0-5). Further goals from Diarmaid Byrnes, Graeme Mulcahy and a cameo total of 1-3 from substitute Peter Casey helped Limerick to a convincing 24-point winning advantage.

The quarter final game against Kilkenny has been fixed for Semple Stadium, Thurles this coming Sunday with a throw in time of 2pm. The game will also be live on RTÉ1.

Scorers – Limerick: Aaron Gillane 1-6 (2fs), Peter Casey 1-3, Tom Morrissey 0-5, Graeme Mulcahy 1-1, Diarmuid Byrnes 1-1 (1’65), Kyle Hayes 1-0, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2, Cian Lynch, Barry Nash, Seamus Flanagan and Darragh O’Donovan 0-1 each.

Scorers – Carlow: Denis Murphy 0-4 (3fs, 1’65), Peter Abbey and John Michael Nolan 0-2 each, Edward Byrne, Jack Kavanagh, Diamuid Byrne (1f), Chris Nolan and Seamus Murphy 0-1 each.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Richie McCarthy, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; William O’Donoghue, Cian Lynch; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy. Subs: Peter Casey for Hayes (h-t), Barry Nash for Mulcahy (36 mins), Darragh O’Donovan for Lynch (46 mins), Sean Finn for English (53 mins), Seamus Hickey for Hannon (58 mins).

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Dion Wall, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Kevin McDonald, David English, Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Diarmuid Byrne; John Michael Nolan, Paul Coady, Edward Byrne; James Doyle, Denis Murphy, Chris Nolan. Subs: Seamus Murphy for D Murphy (48 mins), Conor Foley for P Coady (53 mins), Ross Smithers for Nolan (56 mins), Eoin Redmond for Doyle (57 mins), Peter Abbey for E Byrne (63 mins).

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Limerick’s minor hurlers were also in action at the weekend and lost their opening game in the round robin All-Ireland semi final playoff to Galway on a 1-20 to 0-12 defeat at Semple Stadium.

Antoin Power’s side trailed by 1-11 to 0-6 at half time after Donal O’Shea’s goal put daylight between the sides. The second half was dominated by The Tribesmen and they eased to the 11 point win.