Bray Wanderers earn facile victory over Limerick FC

Connor Ellis of Limerick FC Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Connor Ellis of Limerick FC Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Bray Wanderers continued their fine start to the Airtricity League First division with a 2-0 win over Limerick at the Carlisle Grounds.

Goals from Joe Doyle and Paul Keegan ensured a comfortable win for Gary Cronin’s side who have yet to concede a goal. Worryingly for Tommy Barrett, Limerick have yet to score a goal and also missed a penalty through Conor Ellis.

Bray started brightly as striker Joe Doyle was played through on goal but Limerick goalkeeper Jack Brady foiled the attacker with a great save.

The lively Dylan McGlade was next to test Brady as the Killaloe man had to react quickly to deny the winger.

Limerick were handed a superb chance to take the lead after the half-hour mark when awarded a penalty by referee Shane Dunne but Conor Ellis penalty was saved by Gabriel Sava.

As we approached half time, the home side took a deserved lead as Joe Doyle powerfully headed home from a Dean O’Halloran cross from the right-hand side.

The Shannonsiders made the worst possible start to the second half as Bray captain Paul Keegan smashed a 25-yard shot into the net to double Gary Cronin’s side’s lead.

Bray continued to create chances and goalkeeper Jack Brady kept the visitors in with a chance with saves from Keegan and Doyle.

As the full-time whistle neared, Bray should have added a third as centre-back Sean Heaney saw his header hit the crossbar.

It was always expected to be a tough start on Shannonside as three of the predicted top four were to be played in the opening weeks. Missing Shane Tracy, Killian Brouder and Will Fitzgerald did little to help. Fitzgerald had a scan on Friday and is expected to be missing for the foreseeable future.

Bray Wanderers: Gabriel Sava, Killian Cantwell, Sean Heaney, Luke Nolan, Dylan Barnett, Derek Daly, Paul Keegan, Phillip Gannon (Luka Lovic 85), Dylan McGlade, Dean O’Halloran (Richie Purdy 64), Joe Doyle

Limerick FC: Jack Brady, Shaun Kelly, Tomas O’Connor, Robbie Williams, Aaron Fitzgerald, Darren Murphy, Jason Hughes (Kieran Hanlon 61), Sean McSweeney, Sean Russell, Karl O’Sullivan, Conor Ellis (Ger Barry 82)

The post Bray Wanderers earn facile victory over Limerick FC appeared first on Sporting Limerick.