When last then met: Limerick v Kilkenny 2007

FIFTEEN years have sped by since Limerick and Kilkenny last met in an All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final.

And, while the Cats reigned supreme in the 2007 decider the beaten finalists had enjoyed a memorable season, in which they played a trilogy with Tipperary before engaging in a couple of hectic battles with Waterford, losing the first engagement (Munster Final) before recovering and eliminating the Suirsiders in the All-Ireland semi-final.

That semi will be forever remembered for the brace of goals each by Andrew O’Shaugnessy of Kilmallock, and Garryspillane legend Donie Ryan.

Brian Cody managed Kilkenny, while 1973 hero Richie Bennis held charge in Limerick.

A notable performer with Limerick was Ahane’s Ollie Moran, a survivor from the unlucky mid-1990s, and another was current county senior selector Donal O’Grady of Granagh/Ballingarry.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The ’07 Championship finished with our own O’Shaughnessy as top scorer on 2-46, followed by Kilkenny’s Henry Shefflin (1-45) and Damien Murray of Offaly with 3-38.

Moran, O’Shaughnessy and goalkeeper Brian Murray (Patrickswell) earned All-Star recognition at season’s end.

2007 All-Ireland Final:

Limerick: A O’Shaughnessy 0-7 (6f, 1’65), O Moran 1-3, D O’Grady 0-2, S O’Connor, M Fitzgerald, N Moran 0-1 each.

Kilkenny — PJ Ryan; M Kavanagh, N Hickey, J Tyrrell; T Walsh, B Hogan, JJ Delaney; D Lyng, J Fitzpatrick; W O’Dwyer, M Comerford, E Larkin; E Brennan, H Shefflin, A Fogarty.

Subs: J Tennyson for Hickey, R Power for O’Dwyer, M Fennelly for Shefflin.

Limerick — Brian Murray; Damian Reale, Stephen Lucey, Seamus Hickey; Peter Lawlor, Brian Geary, Mark Foley; Donal O’Grady, Mike O’Brien; M Fitzgerald, Ollie Moran, Sean O’Connor; Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Brian Begley, Donie Ryan.

Subs: Niall Moran for M O’Brien, James O’Brien, Pat Tobin , Kevin Tobin, Mark O’Riordan Lawlor (68).

Referee:  D Kirwan (Cork).