Munster make changes for Connacht clash

Joey Carbery who is selected at full back for Munster.

COACH Graham Rowntree has made four changes from the side which beat Zebre at the weekend for tomorrow night’s United Rugby Championship tilt with Connacht at The Sportsgrounds in Galway (7.35pm, TG4 and Live 95).

Joey Carbery, Gavin Coombes and Conor Murray all start for the first time this season with Carbery making his first start at full-back for the province. Jean Kleyn also comes into the side after recovering from a head knock.

Greencore Munster Rugby Academy duo Conor Phillips and Patrick Campbell keep their places on either flank with Carbery completing the back three.

Murray and Ben Healy form the half-back pairing with Dan Goggin and Malakai Fekitoa continuing their centre partnership.

The front row of Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Keynan Knox is unchanged with Kleyn coming in to partner Tadhg Beirne in the engine room.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Jack O’Donoghue, captain Peter O’Mahony and Coombes complete the side.

There are two Academy players among the replacements with Fionn Gibbons set to make his Munster debut and Edwin Edogbo in line for his third appearance of the season.

First year Academy player Gibbons can play in the centre and on the wing and was a Grand Slam winner with the Ireland U20s earlier this year.

Mike Haley and Fineen Wycherley were unavailable after picking up injuries.

Munster: Joey Carbery; Conor Phillips, Malakai Fekitoa, Dan Goggin, Patrick Campbell; Ben Healy, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Keynan Knox; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony (C), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Edwin Edogbo, Jack O’Sullivan, Craig Casey, Rory Scannell, Fionn Gibbons.