Munster squad update for clash with South Africa

Graham Rowntree will be looking for a repeat of Munster's performance against South Africa..

MUNSTER coach Graham Rowntree has issued a squad update ahead of Thursday’s historic clash with a South Africa selection at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

No less than 13 players were engaged in international duty at the weekend, including seniors Tadhg Beirne, Joe Carbery, Conor Murray, and Pete O’Mahony, while others were involved at A level. 

Rowntree confirmed that Gavin Coombes has returned from the Ireland senior squad, with Diarmuid Barron, Shane Daly, and Roman Salanoa also back from A duty. 

Malakai Fekitoa, who recently featured for Tonga in Spain, is also back in Limerick.

Murray (groin) and Kilcoyne (shoulder) both sustained weekend injuries and have commenced rehabilitation with Munster’s medical department.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

John Ryan has been named in the Barbarians squad to face the All Blacks XV at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium this Sunday.

There were eight Munster players in AIL action on Saturday.

Senior player Chris Moore and Academy duo Fionn Gibbons and Conor Phillips were involved in Young Munster’s defeat by Ballynahinch, with Phillips touching down for the Cookies.

There were four Academy players in Munster derby action as Shannon defeated Garryowen. Ethan Coughlan, Kieran Ryan, and Darragh McSweeney featured for Shannon with Jack Oliver lining out for Garryowen.

Senior player Scott Buckley was a try-scorer for UCC in their loss to Naas.

On the injury front, Antoine Frisch (calf) will return to full team training this week. Frisch has also been named in the French Barbarians squad for their clash against Fiji on Saturday, November 19.

Niall Scannell is completing his return to play protocols with a view to returning to play this week.

Tom Ahern (shoulder) will undergo surgery this week with a period of rehab of approximately four months post-surgery.

Continuing to rehab: Stephen Archer (ankle), Tom Ahern (shoulder), Jean Kleyn (ribs), RG Snyman (knee), Fineen Wycherley (shoulder), Paddy Kelly (head), Jack Daly (knee), Jack O’Sullivan (knee), Keith Earls (thigh), Andrew Conway (knee), Liam Coombes (hamstring).