Monaleen’s O’Dwyer in line for Limerick call-up

Mark O'Dwyer, who scored 0-15 for Monaleen in the Munster Intermediate Club final

MONALEEN are Munster Intermediate Hurling Champions following their 1-22 to 0-18 victory over a fancied Roscrea side at Páirc Uí Rinn in Cork. 

Eoin Brislane’s excellent bunch thus follow in the footsteps of South Liberties (2009) and Effin (2011) as Limerick winners of a championship that stretches back some 20 years.  

On Leeside, Mark O’Dwyer once again underlined his wide-ranging talent with a superb contribution of 0-15 for the winners.  In the semi-final defeat of Clare’s St. Joseph’s Doora Barefield, O’Dwyer also shone like a beacon with a return of 1-6, his major surely worthy of Munster Club Goal of the Season.

O’Dwyer is likely to receive a call-up from Limerick manager John Kiely to line-out in next month’s Munster Senior Hurling League. 

Monaleen, who entered as serious outsiders, had led 0-11 to 0-10 at the interval, with the game’s only goal arriving thereafter from an alert Ed Doyle. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The Munster champions can now look forward to an All-Ireland semi-final against Leinster opposition the weekend after next, and victory here would propel the city outfit to a New Year outing at Croke Park. 

Lorcan Lyons has proved an inspirational captain of Monaleen. 

Elsewhere, holders Ballygiblin of Cork proved too strong for Limerick champions St Kieran’s (3-12 to 0-11) in the Munster Junior Hurling Final in Mallow. 

On the club front, Pat Gleeson skippered Na Piarsaigh emerged comfortable winners over plucky Croagh/Kilfinny in the delayed Limerick Intermediate Hurling Final at Ballyagran. It was a match that was attended by GAA President Larry McCarthy, who the previous night presented Limerick with their All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship medals at Adare Manor Hotel. 

Na Piarsaigh will now compete in the Limerick Senior and Premier Intermediate Championships of 2023.