Gillane hits 1-6 in winning start for Patrickswell

Limerick’s Hurler of the Year elect, Aaron Gillane. Photo: Ramsey Cardy.

AHANE, Kilmallock, and Patrickswell were opening round winners in the top-tier of the Bon Secours Hospital Limerick Senior Hurling Championship over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

In his role as captain, Hurler of the Year (HOTY) elect Aaron Gillane hugely impressed in the number 14 jersey for the ‘Well in their 2-15 to 1-16 victory over holders Na Piarsaigh in challenging weather conditions at Claughaun.

He hit an important 1-6.

Na Piarsaigh were without William O’Donoghue, but their other county stars – Mike and Peter Casey and Jerome Boylan did feature, as did 2018 All-Star Shane Dowling, who kept goal.

The winning side also feature the last couple of HOTY’s in Diarmaid Byrnes and Cian Lynch, who famously lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup only a fortnight earlier.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tipperary’s Eamon Kelly, who previously managed both Offaly and Laois, is boss with Patrickswell.

Na Piarsaigh will aim to recover from this setback with an anticipated win over Kildimo/Pallaskenry at the same venue on Friday at 7pm.

Elsewhere in Group One, 6/1 shots Kilmallock swept aside (3-22 to 0-12) an injury-ravaged Doon in Bruff, while Ahane – for whom Tom Morrissey top-scored with a dozen points – bettered (2-22 to 2-16) Kildimo/Pallaskenry in Claughaun.

Four teams advance from this group.

In Group Two, from which only two teams advance, Ballybrown were much too strong for newly promoted Monaleen (2-21 to 0-14); Adare were nine-point (4-11 to 1-11) victors over Garryspillane, and Mungret St Paul’s swept past South Liberties, 4-19 to 0-13.