Seven Limerick players make GAA/GPA All Star Nominations


GAA GPA All-Star Awards 2011 sponsored by Opel2013 All-Ireland hurling champions Clare lead the way in this year’s GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel after nominations for this year’s award have been confirmed.

The Banner County’s successful campaign, which ended with a final replay win over Cork last weekend, has been rewarded with 13 nominations and is followed by the nine recorded by Cork.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Dublin’s breakthrough Leinster success also sees them receive nine nominations.

Similarly Limerick, who ended their own long wait for provincial success have landed seven and they are followed by Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford who receive four, two and one respectively.

All told only 13 of last year’s nominees are included on this year’s list of 45.

The short list for the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year Awards were also confirmed by the selection panel.

The senior category includes Tony Kelly (Clare), Anthony Nash (Cork) and Pádraic Collins (Clare) and the young player category also includes Kelly and Collins and they are joined by their county colleague David McInerney.

The final selection will be made on Wednesday November 6 before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.



Anthony Nash (Cork)
Patrick Kelly (Clare)
Gary Maguire (Dublin)


David McInerney (Clare)
Domhnall O’Donovan (Clare)
Richie McCarthy (Limerick)
Tom Condon (Limerick)
Peter Kelly (Dublin)
Shane O’Neill (Cork)
Conor O’Sullivan (Cork)
Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
Tomás Waters (Wexford)


Brendan Bugler (Clare)
Patrick Donnellan (Clare)
Liam Rushe (Dublin)
Michael Carton (Dublin)
Brian Murphy (Cork)
Wayne McNamara (Limerick)
Gavin O’Mahony (Limerick)
Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny)
Michael Walsh (Waterford)


Conor Ryan (Clare)
Colm Galvin (Clare)
Joey Boland (Dublin)
Paul Browne (Limerick)
Daniel Kearney (Cork)
Kevin Moran (Waterford)

Half Forwards

Tony Kelly (Clare)
John Conlon (Clare)
Colin Ryan (Clare)
Séamus Harnedy (Cork)
Patrick Cronin (Cork)
Conal Keaney (Dublin)
Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)
James Ryan (Limerick)
Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)


Pádraic Collins (Clare)
Conor McGrath (Clare)
Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
Patrick Horgan (Cork)
Conor Lehane (Cork)
Paul Ryan (Dublin)
David O’Callaghan (Dublin)
Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)
Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Nominees for Player of Year

1. Tony Kelly (Clare)
2. Anthony Nash (Cork)
3. Pádraic Collins (Clare)

Nominees for Young Player of the Year

1. Tony Kelly (Clare)
2. David McInerney (Clare)
3. Padraic Collins (Clare)

County-by-County Breakdown
Clare – 13
Cork – 9
Dublin – 9
Limerick – 7
Kilkenny – 4
Waterford – 2
Wexford – 1