Kiely’s Top 10 | #5 | Limerick dominate Tipp to take Munster title

Peter Casey scores the opening goal in the 2019 Munster Final

The series continues with a look back on the first of Limerick’s four in a row in Munster.

Already we have already looked at the latter half of John Kiely’s best 30 games in charge of the team and some notable omissions.

We now move into the top five with a momentous result in the 2019 Munster final against Tipperary


Limerick 2-26 : 2-14 Tipperary

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Munster Hurling Final | 30 June 2019 in the LIT Gaelic Grounds

John Kiely claimed a first Muster title as Limerick manager as the Shannonsiders eventually saw off the challenge of Tipperary before putting them to the sword on the Ennis Road.

A very competitive first half made way for a second period drubbing as Limerick put on the afterburners to claim a first Munster title in six years.

Gearoid Hegarty had Limerick’s first score of the afternoon as efforts from Peter Casey and Cian Lynch had it level three times inside ten minutes.

Tipperary had the first scent of daylight in the 16th minute as Noel McGrath’s clever free set Seamus Callanan through as he made no mistake for a 1-6 to 0-4 lead.

But Limerick had three on the bounce to reduce the deficit, a pair of Aaron Gillane efforts sandwiched between a Casey score as the duo wreaked havoc.

They then combined for Limerick’s first goal, the former freeing the later who batted to the net in a clever finish for parity in the game.

The teams were level at 1-9 apiece before a pair from Diarmaid Byrnes and Tom Morrissey gave Limerick a two point lead at the break.

Limerick stretched that lead through Byrnes and Hegarty at the resumption but Tipps retort came in the form of a Jason Forde free and a goal from John McGrath.

Level again with just under a half hour to play.

Yet, that was all Tipp could summon as Limerick began to flex their muscle. Three unanswered followed before the imperious Casey dispossessed James Barry which allowed Kyle Hayes in on goal for a 2-18 to 2-12 lead.

Kyle Hayes finds the back of the net.

Kiely’s men showed little sign of relenting as they poured in score after score, as nine players found the target in the Gaelic Grounds.

In the end the margin was twelve as Limerick finished the day as holders of the All-Ireland, Munster and League titles.

Scorers for Limerick: Peter Casey 1-5, Kyle Hayes 1-2, Tom Morrissey and Aaron Gillane (3fs) 0-4 each, Gearoid Hegarty and Diarmuid Byrnes (3fs) 0-3 each, Cian Lynch and Graeme Mulcahy 0-2 each, Barry Nash 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-6 (3fs), Seamus Callanan 1-1, John McGrath 1-0, Ronan Maher 0-2, Dan McCormack, John O’Dwyer, Jake Morris, Jerome Cahill, and Noel McGrath (f) 0-1 each.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Graeme Mulcahy, Aaron Gillane, Peter Casey.

Subs: Shane Dowling for Hegarty (63), Darragh O’Donovan for O’Donoghue (63), Seamus Flanagan for Casey (66), Barry Nash for Hannon (70), David Reidy for T Morrissey (70+1).

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; James Barry, Brendan Maher Sean O’Brien; Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Michael Breen, Noel McGrath; Jason Forde, John O’Dwyer, Dan McCormack; John McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Jake Morris.

Subs: Niall O’Meara for Breen (HT), Robert Byrne for N McGrath (54), Jerome Cahill for O’Dwyer (61), Barry Heffernan for Barry (62), Mark Kehoe for J McGrath (65).

Referee : Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

The post Kiely’s Top 10 | #5 | Limerick reclaim Munster title in dominating fashion against Tipperary appeared first on Sporting Limerick.