Five All-Stars on Limerick bench for league semi-final

Cian Lynch returns to the Limerick team for Saturday's league semi-final against Tipperary.

SUCH is the current richness of talent at his disposal, Limerick manager John Kiely can afford the luxury of having five All-Stars on his bench for Saturday evening’s NHL semi-final tussle with Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds, 7.30pm. 

Waiting in the wings are Richie English, Séamus Flanagan, Gearóid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes and Dan Morrissey. 

The starting selection features no less than a dozen All-Stars, the exceptions being Colin Coughlan of Ballybrown, Cathal O’Neill (Crecora/Manister) and Monaleen’s Donnacha Ó Dálaigh.

Two-time Player of the Year Cian Lynch returns after a minor injury. 

Limerick GAA anticipate a crowd of upwards on 20,000 for the game. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The home team have been installed as firm favourites to progress. 

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (captain), Colin Coughlan; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Cathal O’Neill, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Peter Casey, Donnacha Ó Dálaigh.

Substitutes: David McCarthy, Conor Boylan, Richie English, Seamus Flanagan, Kyle Hayes, Gearoid Hegarty, Micheál Houlihan, Dan Morrissey, Barry Murphy, Fergal O’Connor, Oisin O’Reilly.

Meanwhile, joint-captain Iain Corbett of Newcastle West is still troubled by injury and is likely to be ruled-out for Limerick’s concluding National Football League fixture against Clare at Cusack Park, Ennis on Sunday next (2pm). 

Manager Mark Fitzgerald will name his starting selection tonight. 

In Ladies Football, boss Graham Shine has chosen his team to face Antrim in the semi-final of the League in Kinnegad on Sunday next (2pm). 

Limerick: Sophie Hennessy (Old Mill); Fiona Bradshaw (Oola), Yvonne Lee (Monagea), Meadbh MacNamara (St. Ailbes); Deborah Murphy (Monagea), Leah Coughlan (Oola), Grace Lee (Monagea); Róisín Ambrose (Old Mill), Clare O’Meara (Mungret St. Paul’s); Kate Heelan (St. Ailbes), Cathy Mee (Ballylanders), Lauren Ryan (Adare); Laoise Browne (Ballylanders), Iris Kennelly (Old Mill), Karen O’Leary (Monagea).